Tuesday, April 13, 2010

And the Pultizer Prize for Drama Goes to...

For only the eighth time since one of the most prestegious awards given was created, a musical was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.  That musical, of course, is next to normal by Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey.  Most interestingly, it was named the winner even though the nominating jury didn't even name it as a contender.  Regardless of how it came about, this is indeed a high honor for any show, and is perhaps sweet justice for a show that, on paper if nothing else, looked like a long shot for success.  But isn't that daring, all-American pushing of the envelope what the award celebrates?  Indeed that is true.

The Pulitzer Prize

Congratulations to the entire company of the show:  Mr. Kitt and Mr. Yorkey, director Michael Greif, the design team, the producers and the company of actors: Alice Ripley, J. Robert Spencer, Aaron Tveit, Jennifer Damiano, Adam Chanler-Berat, Louis Hobson, Kyle Dean Massey, Jessica Phillips, Michael Berry, Meghan Fahy, Tim Young, Sarah Uriarte Berry, Brian d'Arcy James and Asa Somers.

Here are the 8 musicals that have won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama:

1931-32:  Of Thee I Sing

Ira Gershwin and the script for Of Thee I Sing

1949-50: South Pacific

Rodgers and Hammerstein; South Pacific (revival)

1959-60: Fiorello!

Bock and Harnick; the Cast Recording; Tom Bosley and Company

1961-62: How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying!

Frank Loesser (commemorative stamp)
and the original logo for H2$

1975-76: A Chorus Line

Marvin Hamlisch, Michael Bennett and Edward Kleban

The Line (Revival Company)


1984-85: Sunday in the Park with George

Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine

Sunday in the Park with George - Original Cast

1995-96: RENT

Jonathan Larson

"La Vie Boheme" - Original Cast

2009-10: next to normal

Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey

next to normal - Original Broadway Cast

Comments?  Leave one here or email me at jkstheatrescene@yahoo.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...