Friday, October 28, 2011

And the Lloyd Webber Award Goes to...

Yesterday, I left off recounting my discussion with Mike about who we thought might be future recipients of Signature Theatre's Stephen Sondheim Award.  When we got to Harold Prince, we got back to Patti LuPone, the 2012 award winner.

It was then that we wondered, "If there was a similar award given in the name of Andrew Lloyd Webber, who would be so honored?"

Here are a few that we came up with (and some of their ALW credits):

Tim Rice
  • Lyricist Tim Rice - Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Jesus Christ Superstar, Evita
  • Actor Michael Crawford - The Phantom of the Opera, The Woman in White, The Wizard of Oz
  • Actress Sarah Brightman - Cats, The Phantom of the Opera, Requiem
  • Actress Elaine Paige - Cats, Evita, Sunset Boulevard
  • Actress Betty Buckley - Cats, Song and Dance, Sunset Boulevard
Elaine Paige

Michael Crawford

  • Lyricist Charles Hart - The Phantom of the Opera, Aspects of Love
  • Lyricist Don Black - Tell Me on a Sunday, Starlight Express, Aspects of Love, Sunset Boulevard
  • Choreographer Gillian Lynne  - Cats, The Phantom of the Opera, Aspects of Love
Gillian Lynne
  • Producer Cameron Mackintosh - Song and Dance, Cats, The Phantom of the Opera
  • Director Harold Prince - Evita, The Phantom of the Opera, Whistle Down the Wind

Which brings us back to Patti LuPone.  Do you think she'd even be considered?  On the plus side, Evita.  On the downside, Sunset Boulevard...

Who else do you think should considered for an Andrew Lloyd Webber Award?  Write in and let us know what you think!

Rate this blog below and leave your comments there or by email at, or Tweet me!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...